The Flairing Interview

This interview was done a couple of weeks ago by a renowned press but I decided to keep the best for the last. And that is the stylin’, profilin’, limousine-riding, jet-flying, kiss-stealing, wheelin’n’dealin’ son of a gun! Yeah, the 16-time world heavy champion, who, at fifty-nine years of age, is still putting on a show, still beading up a glow, and still the nature boy, Ric Flair.

On his retirement issue:
“My time is coming I guess, I mean I don’t know when that time’ll be exactly, it’s hard to know, especially when I’m wrestling every match right now and my career depends on it” – kayfabe to the end – “But there’ll be a time, and it may be soon”, when the Nature Boy’ll have to move away from competing”

So what would be next for Ric?
“I see myself as being a spokesperson for this company, I am moving in to that role, doing these sorts of interviews, taking time to talk to people, to promote this amazing company. I say this hand on heart, this company (WWE) is second to none, because it knows the way to sell.

He added that he’ll move to a role within the company outside of being in the ring. And Flair is not interested in going back to being an on-screen puppet that doesn’t wrestle. He is not interested in booking and/or being a road-agent. But he will be fostering talent. Though not merely as a guy giving advice, internally. Ric Flair wants to project.

On screen or not, we know that Ric is facing problems in his personal life – so what’s his take?
“I have had a lot of problems and a lot of it is in my head, I know that, I go out there and do my job and deliver. But it has been hard. And it’s a process I’ve been working through – And I’d like to write another book; writing was part of what helped me to get over some of those worries and fears”

His lookbacks on his luxurious career:
“You know, I can honestly say that I don’t have a favourite match or feud. I’ve had some great ones, and I think I can say that knowing that there’ll be people that will back me up. And yeah, the I Quit match with Terry was, well, you know yourself, it was epic. And of course everyone talks to me about the matches with Steamboat. And all of the matches with Funk, with Harley, you know they were all great. I am lucky when I look back because, you know, I can honestly say that I have no regrets. I’ve made mistakes. Sure. But I have no regrets”.

On a possible Hogan/Flair match:
“Well, you know, I see where you’re going, but for me, there was never any issue with Hogan, his work ethic always impressed me. He worked his butt off to help make wrestling so big, and he was out there through the 80s and the 90s, working 300 days a year, selling t-shirts, selling out arena and he worked hard. Full credit to him. [Still] I never said he was the greatest in-ring performer.”

Would he be the champ for the 17th time again?
“The only guy of any magnitude that is still on the scene that I have never gone one-on-one against properly and would love to is John Cena. But that’ll never happen now. We’re in different zones, career-wise, he’s on the up, I’m, I guess, winding down.”

Who will be the next Ric Flair?
“There will never be another Ric Flair…… ever”

We are heading towards the last phase of Ric’s wonderful and amazing career. While most fans are more interested to know who Ric will face at Wrestlemania, what’s more important is, he still can carry another “Woo” and this word will resound in our head, whether its now, or in years to come.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

