Austin: “I Am Not Coming Back”

Despite popular demand, Stone Cold Steve Austin has ruled out the possibility of coming back to wrestle full time. In a recent interview with a renowned press, Steve Austin has claimed that his old injury is the main reason.

A combination of burnout and frustration started to build within Austin during the early part of 2002. In his mind, his storylines were not coming together. The bright shining spotlight was dimming as the Rock went Hollywood, Hulk Hogan came back to the company, and Triple H, Kurt Angle, and Brock Lesnar began commanding attention. He hated it.

“People think what they want about pro wrestling, I don’t care if everybody likes it or not. I love it! And to get to the top, you can’t just be some dummy. To go to the top in your chosen field and what you choose to do, it means something. No one can take that from me or anybody else in wrestling, like I said, whether they understand or like wrestling or not. Sometimes, we still fight for that mainstream. We struggle for it. But… I can’t go all day long with this”

He added, “I’m pretty much done with wrestling. I had a blast, and it was the best job I had in my entire life. When you had my type of style, which was very aggressive, you’re going to have wear-and-tear, but I feel really good. If I really wanted to and needed to I can probably get two more hard years in the ring, but at this point it’s not worth it. After 10 years, when I’m in my 50s, I want to feel this good. So it’s time to hang it up.”

For those who are hopeful for Austin to change his mind and put himself in a match with Hogan at Wrestlemania, maybe you should have a second thought on it. Though he claimed that his physical condition is an issue, we know where he wants to head now.

Ever since his departure, his focus has been on hollywood. But he had few success there. The critical response to Condemned was negative. Rotten Tomatoes listed the film with a 17% rating, Complaints against The Condemned included accusations of plot holes, sexual objectification, preachy tone, and massive amounts of violence untempered by comic relief. It also received a 0/4 from the New York Post.

The $20 million USD-budgeted film failed at the box office, by most reasonable standards for such calculation. It debuted with a $3.8 million dollar opening weekend in the US. The film lasted only 4 weeks in theaters and closed with a total of $7.4 million dollars

“Making action films make a whole of sense to me. Don’t try to be too artsy and creative or silly. That’s not a good move at first. Do something I’m comfortable in and what people want to watch. That’s what we’re looking for.”

Well, though we might not have a Hogan/Austin match this Wrestlemania, it would be interesting to see The Rock and Austin face off in the wide screen. Austin has been in talks with WWE on his second film. Perhaps The Rock would be in it too.

“I’m open to work with anybody that is out there. I mean, he was too. I have no idea what his thoughts are. I want to do cool movies with people that I can learn from. The great directors and the great actors. So whoever they put me on the same set with is to be seen.”

With Austin and Hogan match likely to rule out, we can still anticipate him to make an annual appearance at Wrestlemania 24.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

